Senior Friendly Product Reviews

Computers Made for Seniors

via HelpMeRick.com

At last week’s computer users group meeting, I was handed an advertisement with the following headline:

“Finally…A Computer That’s Designed for YOU, Not Your Grandchildren!”

Since I work with many retired aged computer users, I know the frustrations that some of them have regarding technology. When I hear about technologies that make computing easier for anyone, I research and learn about the technology to see how I think it would function for people that I help with their computers.

On the surface, this computer, dubbed the Go Computer,  sounds pretty good:

  • Large type, easy to read screen
  • Simplified menus
  • Large, high contrast keyboard lettering
  • Trackball instead of a mouse
  • No need for computer classes or instructional DVDs
  • No maintenance needed by the user

No where in full page ad is a price mentioned. When I looked at the web site, the price is displayed prominently throughout; $799 PLUS $19.95 per month for unlimited support. So for the first year, the cost is almost $1100. After reading much of the site and the PDF files available for the press, I couldn’t determine what operating system was being used or the hardware specs of the computer. The monitor is a 19″ flat panel. In my mind, I thought it sounds like a Zonbu model of selling computers, but decided to investigate further.

I wrote to the company and received an email back a few hours later. The Go Computer has Windows XP, an Intel Atom 1.6ghz processor, 1 GB of RAM, and an 80GB hard drive. One of the other questions I asked in the email was whether a high speed connection was required. The gentleman who replied stated that a broad band connection is required…so tack on a minimum of another $30 per month.

To summarize this computer:

  • It has the same hardware, actually less hard drive space, that netbooks contain (the mini laptops).
  • It’s running Windows XP
  • It requires the monthly $20 maintenance/support fee
  • The up front cost is $800 for hardware that can easily be had for less than 1/2 that price
  • Maintenance (security and Windows updates) are performed remotely
  • It does sport a simplified customized interface and a nice keyboard and track ball.

I think the Go Computer, or something similar, might be a great deal IF the company subsidized the price of the computer via the contract subscription. As it is, the Go Computer folks are making a tidy profit on the computer system AND have the maintenance contract on top of that. A $100-200 computer with a 2 year monthly agreement might make this a more attractive offer financially. And since I haven’t seen the interface in use, I can’t comment on the usability of the system itself.

Is anyone reading this using a Go Computer? Do you know someone who is?

Leave a comment